Home > Collection Development > Subject Blogs    

Archive for the 'Business & Economics' Category

Mar 26 2014

EBSCOhost maintenance and downtime

On Saturday 29 March 2014 from 9am to 11am, the library’s EBSCOhost databases may be
intermittently unavailable while EBSCO performs network upgrades.

No responses yet| 273 views

Mar 24 2014

Access the latest Health & Social Care Research from Routledge

Free research - the economics of healthcare
Throughout March 2014, Routledge have made a selection of over sixty articles on economics and healthcare completely free to access. The collection explores topics such as the effect of economic reforms on healthcare provisions, economic efficiency of healthcare systems around the world and the controversial cost of obesity.

Please click here to start your research. 

 

No responses yet| 99 views

Mar 21 2014

Wisenews systems downtime 29 March 2014

Systems maintenance of the Wisenews database has been scheduled on Saturday, 29 Mar 2014 from 18:00 to 24:00 (Hong Kong Time GMT+8). During this period, all Wisenews database services will be temporarily unavailable.

No responses yet| 236 views

Feb 20 2014

EBL Scheduled Downtime March 2014

EBL platform will be unavailable during March 2, 2014 from 8 am to 12 at noon as the vendor performs enhancements and updates to their system.

No responses yet| 391 views

Feb 13 2014

Webinar: The Year in Review 2013 - Risk Model Backtesting

RiskMetrics is going to presents the results of an annual backtesting study, using their RiskManager applied to four standard risk models. The scope of the study included fixed income and equity portfolios during the period January to December 2013.

 

While the first half of 2013 was quiet, volatility increased after June 2013. For fixed income portfolios, the more reactive models showed some underestimation of risk in the turbulent period. The more stable historical model on average produced better forecasts, thanks to the 2008 crisis data being included.

 

Looking back over the past three years of these backtesting papers, they see that different models have performed best in different years, this raises both immediate practical implications and longer term questions, which will be discussed during this presentation. 

 

Agenda Topics Include

  • Risk Model backtest results for fixed income and equity portfolios
  • Discussion of trade off between stability and responsiveness of models
  • Comparison with previous years
  • Practical and research implications of different models performing better in different years

 

Event Details     

Length  50-60 minutes                   

 

 Session 1

  • Hong Kong          Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 6:00 PM HKT                     
  • London                 Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 10:00 AM GMT 
  • Paris                     Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 11:00 AM CET    
  • Dubai                    Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 2:00 PM GST      
  • Tokyo                    Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 7:00 PM JST                                         

 

Session 2            

  • Hong Kong            Wednesday, 5 March 2014, 0:00 AM HKT
  • San Francisco        Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 8:00 AM PST  
  • New York               Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 11:00 AM EST
  • London                  Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 4:00 PM GMT
  • Paris                      Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 5:00 PM CET
  • Dubai                     Tuesday, 4 March 2014, 8:00 PM GST  

 

REGISTER TODAY!

Webinar log-in details will be emailed to you shortly after your registration is received.

OR See the latest Market Insight paper: The Year in Review 2013: Risk Model Backtesting  by Rachael Smith and Thomas Verbraken.

 

 

No responses yet| 145 views

Feb 04 2014

ProQuest downtime for system enhancements

ProQuest will not be available Sunday, February 16 at 10:00 for eight (8) hours (China Standard Time ) for system enhancements.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused.

No responses yet| 269 views

Jan 24 2014

Latest report from Migration Policy Institute

In Spheres of Exploitation: Thwarting Actors Who Profit from Illegal Labor, Domestic Servitude, and Sex Work, Migration Policy Institute researcher Meghan Benton focuses on exploitation in three spheres: the domestic care sector, the labor market, and the sex industry. The report analyzes the business model for all three spheres, where perpetrators are broadly motivated by the lure of high profits and low risks.

The report explores the obstacles that governments face in taking on these bad actors, including victim unwillingness to report crimes, the difficulty in identifying and prosecuting crimes in cases where consensual agreement exists between employer and employee, and the difficulty in targeting the masterminds of criminal operations.

The report examines the tools that exist to disrupt the business model of exploitation, including anti-trafficking legislation, penalties for employers who hire unauthorized workers, inspections, regulations, and public awareness campaigns.

Read the series here

 

[Source: Migration Policy Institute]

 

No responses yet| 681 views

Jan 20 2014

Webinar: 2014 ESG Trends to Watch

As we leave behind a year in which investors turned cautious on some Emerging Market economies, when the share price of coal producers tumbled due to weakening demand, and as political fights over the government’s fiscal position shut down the US government for the first time in 17 years, which ESG themes will intersect with key market trends in 2014? In this annual edition of our ESG Trends to Watch Report, we explore some of the most pressing questions that our clients are asking heading into the New Year.

 

Join MSCI ESG Research for the January 28th webinar “2014 ESG Trends to Watch” with the analysts behind the report - don’t miss the in-depth analysis and insight on the below five topics:

  • To Divest or Not to Divest? Options for Reducing Fossil Fuel Exposure
  • How are Emerging Markets Economies Turning Income into Wealth? Improvements in Human Capital Infrastructure
  • What’s Green about “Green Bonds”? Three Questions Investors Should Ask
  • Are Some Sectors More Sustainable Than Others? Evolving ESG Allocation Strategies
  • Who’s Paying Less and Who’s Paying More? The Push for Tax Transparency

 

Event Details

  • Hong Kong       Wednesday, 29 January 2014, 0:00AM HKT
  • San Francisco    Tuesday, 28 January 2014, 8:00AM PST
  • New York           Tuesday, 28 January 2014, 11:00AM EST
  • London              Tuesday, 28 January 2014, 4:00PM GMT
  • Paris                  Tuesday, 28 January 2014, 5:00PM CET
  • Dubai                 Tuesday, 28 January 2014, 8:00PM GST

 

REGISTER TODAY!

Webinar log-in details will be emailed to you shortly after your registration is received.

OR Download the 2014 ESG Trends to Watch Report now!

 

 

No responses yet| 261 views

Oct 10 2013

ARTstor down for maintenance October 10th between 6:00 PM and 10:00 PM

ARTstor will be performing temporary scheduled maintenance on Thursday, October 10th between 6:00 PM and 10:00 PM. Access to the ARTstor Digital Library will be suspended during this time.

No responses yet| 403 views

Oct 08 2013

Webinar: Canada - Safe Waters or Risky Business?

Canada is perceived to be a relatively low risk market from an environmental, social, and governance standpoint. However, MSCI ESG Research analysis on Canada indicates that although the country has high governance standards, on an industry level, Canadian companies face numerous ESG risks both from foreign and domestic operations. Within the MSCI Canadian Investable Market Index (IMI), for example, 46% of Energy and Materials companies by sector weight have inherently disruptive operations, suggesting that environmental risks may be more pronounced for corporate Canada than other similarly developed economies.

 

We cordially invite you to a webinar where experts from MSCI ESG Research, OPTrust, and NEI Investments will discuss ESG risk areas for Canadian companies and how investors are minimizing exposure to these issues within their portfolios.

 

Agenda items include:

  • What are the key findings and conclusions following MSCI ESG Research’s expanded MSCI Canadian IMI coverage?
  • How are Canadian companies managing key ESG risks such as biodiversity and land use, financing and environmental impact, and corruption?
  • What strategies are Canadian investors implementing to minimize exposure to ESG risks within their investment portfolios?

 

The session will be moderated by Paula Glick, Vice President, MSCI ESG Research, and speakers include:

  • Priti Shokeen, Senior Analyst, MSCI ESG Research
  • Katharine Preston, Manager, Responsible Investing Group, OPTrust
  • Bob Walker, Vice President, ESG Services, NEI Investments

 

Event Details

  • Hong Kong        Friday, 25 October 2013, 01:00 AM HKT
  • San Francisco    Thursday, 24 October 2013, 10:00 AM PDT
  • New York           Thursday, 24 October 2013, 1:00 PM EDT
  • London              Thursday, 24 October 2013, 6:00 PM BST
  • Paris                  Thursday, 24 October 2013, 7:00 PM CEST
  • Dubai                 Thursday, 24 October 2013, 9:00 PM GST

 

Webinar Details

Log-in details will be emailed to you shortly after your registration is received.

There is no fee to attend.

 

 

REGISTER HERE!

No responses yet| 316 views

Next »